Home Affairs implements visa waivers for certain countries

On the 15. August 2019, the Minister of the Department of Home Affairs, Dr Aaron Motsoaledi announced in his Budget Vote speech that nationals from the following four countries has been granted visa-free status and will be able to travel to South Africa without visas:

β€œAs from today, 15 August 2019, travellers from Qatar, Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates and New Zealand will no longer require a visa to visit South Africa for holidays, conferencing and business meeting visits. We took this decision unilaterally but we are engaging these countries to see how they can relax entry requirements for our citizens. I am glad to say that Qatar has already waived visa requirements for South Africans and this will enable our people to attend Qatar FIFA World Cup 2022 easier,” said Minister Motsoaledi.

Minister Motsoaledi also said that the Department of Home Affairs would implement visa waivers for the countries Ghana, Cuba and Principe and Sao Tome after negotiations with these countries have been concluded.

By end of August 2019 the Department of Home Affairs has scheduled to complete these negotiations and the implementation will follow soon thereafter.

β€œThe Department of Home Affairs has an important contribution to make in growing tourism and by extension growing the economy and creating jobs. We are constantly reviewing our operations to ensure that we relax entry requirements without compromising our responsibility towards the safety and security of our citizens,” said Motsoaledi.

To read the full information issued from the Department of Home Affairs kindly click HERE.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter

Leave a Comment

Filed under Immigration

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.